Tokyo 2020: Draw held for rugby sevens tournaments

1 year ago 3341
Dan Norton runs with the ballAll-time World Rugby Sevens Series leading try scorer Dan Norton will represent Great Britain in Tokyo

Great Britain's men face reigning champions Fiji in the Olympic rugby sevens pool stage, while the women's team play 2016 runners-up New Zealand.

Japan and Canada complete the group with Team GB's men, who were silver medallists in Rio five years ago.

The Russian Olympic Committee team and Kenya join GB and World Series title holders New Zealand in Pool A of the women's competition.

Ireland's men are against Rio bronze medallists South Africa.

The United States and Kenya join the Olympic debutants in Pool C.

Teams have been divided into three pools of four, with the top eight from the group stage advancing to the quarter-finals.

The men's competition will take place from July 26-28 and the women's will follow on July 29-31, with all matches taking place at Tokyo Stadium.

The future of Great Britain's sevens squads was left in doubt when the Rugby Football Union announced a funding cut in July 2020, but it later secured National Lottery support to send the teams to Tokyo.

Pool APool B
New ZealandFiji
AustraliaGreat Britain
South KoreaJapan
Pool C
South Africa
United States
Pool APool B
New ZealandCanada
Russian Olympic CommitteeFrance
Great BritainFiji
Pool C
United States

Around the BBC iPlayer banner

Around the BBC iPlayer footer

Source Article